Canceling your Netflix subscription isn’t hard, but with multiple devices storing the options in different places, it’s easy to get confused. With our easy to follow guide on how to cancel your account, you’ll never struggle again.
To actually cancel your subscription is pretty straightforward, but what we bet you didn’t know is that there is another additional step you’ll want to take if keeping your data safe is your top priority.
Here’s how to delete your account — and we mean really delete your account –– on Netflix for good!
How to cancel your Netflix subscription (step by step)
Side note: You can’t cancel your subscription through an app on any device; you’ll have to use a browser to properly do it.
To cancel your Netflix subscription, first, you need to visit www.netflix.com/cancelplan and sign in with the usual email address and password you use to get into your account.
Netflix will also present you with options to change your plan, such as choosing a less expensive option, rather than fully canceling your account. Here’s what you need to know.
- Once you’re signed in, you’ll be presented with two options — “Are You Done Watching?” and “Stick Around.”
- You can cancel your account by clicking on “Finish Cancelation” under the “Are You Done Watching?” option. This will allow you to keep using your account through to your next bill, or you are presented with the option to downgrade your plan and save some money each month with “Stick Around.”
But according to CNet, following a user’s subscription cancellation, Netflix holds the personal data of that individual linked to the account in their files for 10 months in case the user chooses to return to the streamer. That means information such as viewing history, account profiles, and favorites will still be there if you decide to go back within that time frame.
So if you want to have all of your personal data deleted from their servers prior to the end of the 10-month period, you’ll need to take an extra step to do so.
More specifically, you’ll need to “send an email to email@example.com using the email address that’s linked to your Netflix account,” according to the streamer. Once doing so, your data will be expunged from the system before the end of the 10-month period.
Netflix pricing plans
For those on the fence about canceling Netflix or picking a cheaper plan, here’s what you need to know about Netflix’s prices as of September 2023.
- Standard with ads: $6.99/month
- Standard: $15.49/month
- Premium: $19.99/month
For the standard and premium plans, additional members can be added to your account for $7.99 per person, as Netflix no longer allows password sharing.
It should also be noted that new and returning members will no longer have access to Netflix’s former “basic plan.”
Netflix contact number
If you’re interested in speaking to someone from Netflix customer service, you’ll need to call this number: tel:+1-844-505-2993. After calling, listen to the prompts and follow the instructions to chat with a representative or be redirected to the appropriate place.